A Baby and a Cure for Cancer

Update: My book is now available on Amazon and at Mary Immaculate Books and Gifts in Mesa, AZ and St. Thomas the Apostle Gift Shop in Phoenix. More bookstores will have it soon!! It is also still available on Create Space as well!

Marco James was born this past Monday at 10 lbs. I think I forgot to share some really interesting news with you blog readers! If you read the blogs about my incident, you will discover that my brother (a cardiothoracic surgeon) came to assist in saving my life. What was really amazing is that he had his first child five days before my sweet Ella was born last July 28th. Just eleven months later, my brother’s wife Remi has given birth to their second son just weeks before their first son’s 1st birthday. That’s what we call Irish twins! Although this wasn’t planned, the family is extremely excited to have a new little one. I think we are also really excited that Remi’s delivery was as it should be—UNCOMPLICATED! What a blessing!

Ella (almost 1 years old) meeting Marco (1 day old)

This next picture is of two of my best friends Melanie H. (left), Angela Faddis (middle) and me (right) about four years ago.

This picture is of Angela and me just a few days ago. I haven’t seen my friend in 4 years. 

The big difference between these two pictures is that just a few months ago Angela, age 31, was told she has inoperable Stage 4 colon cancer. My heart is broken…but I am not without hope!

Angela and I met about eight years ago at a conference where I was speaking. She was there with another speaker and instantly we became friends. She said she may be moving to AZ and would call me to see if I could assist her in finding a roommate. She did move and moved in with my friend, Melanie H. Her first night in Arizona was her birthday and it was also the night of our women’s prayer group, so we invited her. Together, the three of us prayed for each other, our struggles and for the Lord to give us strength and lead our lives. I have always been amazed at how our friendship started in prayer. The three of us developed a close relationship.

When she married, I was a bridesmaid in her wedding and when she had her first child, she and her husband Chris asked Doug and me to be their daughter Gianna’s godparents. At the time, I was nine-months pregnant with Brady and we proudly accepted the role! A few weeks after the baptism, they moved to the east coast. We were all sad about this departure, but Chris and Ang promised they would be back soon.

It is now four years later, and Angela has been told she has stage 4 colon cancer that is inoperable at this time. If there is a chance for her survival, her tumors must shrink so doctors can remove them. Immediately, she began two months of three different types of chemotherapy. She lost a lot of weight and hair, and found out that after doing the chemo regiment, the tumor grew.

This news came just one and a half weeks ago. Angela, Chris and their two children came to visit this past weekend. It was wonderful to hug my old friends and see my godchild and meet their other son. It was as if no time had passed.

This visit was supposed to be a vacation, but with the news that Angela’s tumor grew, it was at the forefront of their minds. They decided to check around to see what AZ can offer in terms of advanced treatment for colon cancer and found some protocols here in AZ that are not offered in their current state. Protocols that have cured even the most advanced colon cancer diagnoses.  This has given us all hope and excitement to know there is more that can be done for Angela, mother of two small children. This also means they will be moving home! Home to AZ—the place where Angela’s brother and Chris’s family live; the place where some of their closest friends and support system reside. I am very excited!

Angela’s husband Chris Faddis wrote an article about me when I was in critical condition called “URGENT PRAYER REQUEST: Melanie Pritchard in Critical Condition.” This article spread around the world overnight. He beckoned people to pray for me. Little did I know that just a few months later, I would be doing the same for him and his beautiful bride Angela, my dear friend.

So, I ask you to join me in prayer for Angela.  As I know, God has the power to make all things new! I know He can cure her in a blink of an eye. I am hopeful this new protocol will cure her. Unfortunately it will cost $30,000-$60,000. At first glance this feels like a lot of money—and it is, but I was doing some math and if just the people on her Facebook support page raised $30 each, she would have the funds to move forward. Please pray that if it is the Lord’s Will, the money will be raised. Feel free to read more about her and check out her page at www.AngelaFaddis.com. The page should be up on Wed, July 13th, so check back if you don’t see it. And please help spread the word about the fundraising campaign.

With God all things are possible! Please pray for a cure for her and all those suffering from cancer. I can already see how God is working in this. In one visit, they were able to find the right doctors, someone donated a house for the family to live rent-free while receiving care the next few months and her husband’s job agreed to let him work from AZ. I see how the Lord is taking care of all of their concerns already. God is good!

If you don’t mind saying a little prayer for me, too, I would appreciate it. I will be traveling to speak at two Steubenville youth conferences in the next few weeks, and another conference in California. For the youth conferences, I will be in St. Louis and St. Paul and will be away from my family for three days each trip. I think I am going to suffer separation anxiety! I am betting the kids will be fine—I am the one that may not be able to handle it too well! I missed the conferences last year because I was pregnant.  This year I have a pretty amazing story to share about a miracle, so I am extremely excited to tell these 5000 teenagers about how the Lord has worked in my life this past year! I’m sure my next blog will be about that experience!

2 comments

  1. Angela · · Reply

    Oh, beautiful baby and beautiful Ella. Thanks for all of your help Mel. you are such an inspiration to so many and I am blessed to have you in my life.

  2. Meagan Kenney · · Reply

    Will be praying for Angela and you! I also have never heard of Immaculate Mary books in Mesa… I think I will be stopping there today to get your book! Congrats to your bother and sister in law on such a beautiful, healthy baby. I have a niece and nephew that are Irish twins…born 53 weeks apart!

Leave a Reply

